Book Review: Grave Justice (Lost Souls Society Book 5) by Kate Allenton

FIVE STARS

I just really love Riley St. James. She’s a firecracker of a gal with rough and tumble abilities, a bit of an attitude, and doesn’t back down to anybody for any reason, including Grim and especially her father, who has tried to kill her repeatedly throughout her life. I don’t usually like heroines like her, but what redeems her for me is that she really loves her brother, loves her friends, and loves Adler, her boyfriend. She’s got a soft heart that doesn’t surface often, but when it does it’s beautiful.

In this installment of the series, our psychic heroine is supposed to start training to be a reaper. Grim and her father are to be her instructors, but when Tucker (her brother) is critically injured and his girlfriend’s teenage daughter is murdered while she was standing next to him, everybody’s life takes a new direction and training is put on hold.

Riley is at her best with trying to find out who is responsible for this. She sees ghosts, talks to them, tries to get information, and is a victim of more than a few crimes herself. With Grim hanging around, it was inevitable that someone was going to die. I just didn’t know who and it isn’t revealed until the end.

This was a marvelous paranormal mystery that had me glued to the pages, guessing and then guessing again who had done what, only to find out I was wrong. The suspense was killing me. I had to know how this was going to end and I was not disappointed.

I do wish we’d had more character descriptions because it helps me connect with them, but this is still a solid five-star read.

*This is part of a series, but can be read as a stand-alone novel. However, you will miss the development of Riley, her relationships with her friends and rivals, and just some great books.

Leave a comment