Book Review: Wishes in a Bottle (Wishes & Dreams, #1) by Allie McCormack

FIVE STARS

Awhile back I went on a binge where I read a bunch of vampire novels. I was absolutely captivated by them and still think every girl needs a vampire in her life. Now I think every girl needs a genie in her life too. A mage, djinn, genie, whatever. I want one. Not just any will do, though. I need one like Julian.

I loved this book. I have never read anything like it, but I am hooked. I want to throw all of my other books aside and keep reading this series. I might just do it.

The book starts out with Julian, our hero who is sort of a hybrid between being a genie and a human, fulfilling the wishes of a selfish woman. He’s not only gorgeous, he’s got a huge heart and it’s what she doesn’t wish for about breaks him. But it also allowed him to bend the rules and ultimately meet the love of his life. After basically being enslaved for the past 600 years, he deserved something really good to happen and he deserved to be free.

Alessandra was the black sheep of her family. Her father was a control freak and decided what careers his daughters would have, if any and even who they would marry. It worked for the others, but it did not work for her. She was left out of many family functions, but when her nephew is dying, she reunites with her sister, Laura, who needed her desperately. In addition to that, she meets Julian and the game changes for everybody.

When Alessandra becomes his next master after finding his bottle, they fall in love. She holds his future in her hands, but has no idea that does and he can’t tell her what to do to release him from the bottle. She is granted three wishes, of course, so why couldn’t she just wish him to stay with her? It was so simple, but it isn’t that easy. I was so hoping it would be. I thought of other alternatives to keep them together that were also thrown out with the window.

I was involved with this book on an emotional level that I haven’t experienced in a long time. I laughed. I cried. I cheered. I caught my breath a few times. The author did a fantastic job of keeping the suspense of Julian’s outcome until almost the very end of the book. I was hoping there wouldn’t be a cliffhanger. There isn’t.

I loved Julian and I loved Alessandra, but I also loved Jacinth, Laura, and Jackson. The way these characters interacted and the changes that they made kept me turning the pages. I loved the magic, the camaraderie, and the beautiful ending.

I will close this review from one of the things Julian said that nearly swept me off my feet:

“And I’ve waited centuries for you. But know this, Alessandra. I will love you always. No matter where I am, no matter when I am, you will be in my heart, my soul. I will always remember you… always love you. Always.”

It still makes me want to swoon…and cry. Such a great moment in the story.

Superb read!

Oh, I almost forgot. If you subscribe to the author’s newsletter, you get a free short story that precedes this book and gives some background on Julian, although it’s more centered around a young boy who is learning the ropes of living a life of magic. It was wildly entertaining and didn’t take long to read.

Leave a comment