Book Review: A Simple Seduction (Millionaires of Mayfair #1) by Janna MacGregor

FIVE STARS

This is one of those call-in-sick-I’m-not-coming-to-work-today books. I was drawn into the story from the very beginning and it did not let up until the end. I laughed, I cheered, I gasped, and even shed a few tears. It had everything I love in a romance; a handsome hero with a sense of honor and is trying to make a difference, a heroine that is beautiful, witty, but thinks she’s undeserving of love–her story was heartbreaking–antagonists that needed a good old fashioned facer, and wonderful secondary characters. These elements and the solid plot had me whizzing toward the end that was absolutely splendiferous. It couldn’t have had a better conclusion.

A bit about the story:

Honoria is nearing 25 years old and knows marriage is not going to happen for her, for a big reason that you have to read the book to find out. But that doesn’t mean she can’t experience one night of passion with a stranger and no attachments. She dresses up and sneaks into her brother’s masquerade ball and meets a handsome man and decides he’s the one. What she doesn’t know is that he is her brother’s best friend.

Marcus is immediately enamored with the mystery woman. He found out in a rather rude way. He’d been thinking of marrying anyway, so why not her? Lots of reasons. But he is tenacious. He sees qualities in her that she didn’t see in herself. He appreciated her willingness to help others, to spare others, and dare I say, to explore uncharted waters…yes, things got pretty darn steamy. He not only thrived on it, he encouraged it.

The chemistry between Marcus and Noria flew from the screen. There were secret touches, secret kisses, clandestine meetings that singed my fingers as I turned the pages, but there was so much emotion too. They both deserved a happily ever after.

Not this has anything to do with the review, but Marcus had long hair as did at least one other male secondary character. I miss that trait in romances these days and hope Ms. MacGregor may start a trend in bringing it back.

*I did not call in sick to work to read this stunning book, but that doesn’t mean I didn’t want to.

Leave a comment